Friday, January 11, 2013

My ITTP TEFL Prague Nov 2012 class review

Wow, an intense but extremely gratifying month.

I think that’s how I would sum up my TEFL Prague experience, now that It’s been a few days since course completion and I have time to look back at the four weeks which I’m already starting to miss so much.

Like I read elsewhere, the ITTP TEFL Prague course really does what it says on the tin and you will definitely not be disappointed with this experience. A few days a graduate of the program and I’ve already got a full teaching schedule to last me until the end of June, and longer of course if I so wish.
The positive of this program are definitely clear to me.

- A strong teacher trainer team, which took my group from novice to professional in just 4 magic weeks.

- A huge amount of teaching practice. From day 2 I was in the classroom! This REALLY helped me because it alleviated the initial nerve tinges I would get when thinking about standing in front of a class. with so much teaching as part of the course you just don’t have the time to get nervous and you very quickly develop your own teaching style. Real students too and not only were we teaching at school but also at UniCredit Bank and a children’s school close to the Old Town Square. This aspect of the course was probably my favorite, the fact that taught so much and the friends I have made who took other courses with different schools were amazed at the difference between ITTP and their course (their course generally meant teaching each other, not real students).

- Neville and the team were particularly helpful along the whole journey. It took me a while to commit to the ITTP program but when I did I at once felt comfortable with the online communication and I always got a reply to an email within a few hours. A day max. I also felt comfortable paying online because of the secure visa protection form which these guys have.

- My classmates. Without doubt the best bunch of people I have met and become friends with in such a short time. We jelled baby :)

- VERY easy to find work through the program. Our class were given contacts for over 100 schools in Prague alone. 100!!! Out of the 10 or so schools I contacted about 75% got back to me within a day or 2 to offer me an interview and I get the impression that the ITTP TEFL certificate is highly regarded in the city. Georgia, one of my classmates, is off to teach in Japan in January so good to know that you can also use the certificate abroad and this was important for me because I might get bored with Prague in a few months down the road and want to go somewhere else to teach. The ITTP certificate is internationally recognized so you do get what you pay for many times over.

- Accommodation was top notch and represented value for money. Bear in mind though that this is a new apartment these guys are renting so I imagine that in a year or two it might not be looking so new.

Only negative is that I found out yesterday that when you apply for the visa you need a Czech translated version of the certificate and when I asked the ITTP office they said they only offer the English international version. It means I’m going to need to fork out around 20 Bucks for a translated copy and I really think ITTP should consider issuing the certificate in English and Czech versions. Not a big issue because I found the work visa process to be pretty painless, but for me an additional expense.

Well, as you can see our November group had a VERY positive time and I think I can speak for the whole group when I say that we highly recommend the ITTP TEFL Prague program!

Class of Nov 2012

Monday, November 19, 2012

TEFL Prague Review (by Zdenek)

As a non native English speaker I was a bit cautious about taking this course because I didn't want to take it and learn that I had failed and wasted a significant investment.
All turned out very well.
I took the course and thoroughly enjoyed it and as a bonus passed the course :)
ITTP Prague was a very good choice for me and I am sure will help me when I begin to look to teaching abroad in 2014.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Latest ITTP TEFL Online course review

5/10/2012 : Daniel Kenyon
5 Stars out of 5 

I did the online TEFL course with ITTP Prague, five years ago, and have been using the certificate ever since to work in many schools around Europe. It has opened many doors for me and for a great price. I have recommended it to quite a few people. I actually loved the course. It was very well structured, challenging but interesting. The scenarios represented, I can now say, were also realistic. My tutor Veronika was very helpful and Neville has also been very helpful and responsive. I did it five years ago and I'm sure they have gone from strength to strength since then. Go for it. 

Thursday, August 30, 2012

ITTP Prague July course Graduate article

Mary at Kutna Hora (Click on photo to enlarge)
Kids grown, three years until retirement from a successful career in teaching, is it already over? Surely I am too young to simply stop teaching; I am still energetic and love the classroom and the positive energy it generates.
I have always had a propensity towards travel, but lacked the funds and opportunity to do so. Could now be the right time?
As I pondered the above questions, and talked to many people about international teaching jobs, I was directed toward Prague by people who had similar experiences. I aptly checked online, and through the positive reviews and the more than adequate correspondence with Neville, decided that ITTP/TEFL could give me the experience I needed and possibly quell my urge to travel, at least temporarily.
Before I had a chance to second guess myself, I made the deposit and began the process. Thanks to the people involved across the pond, as Neville says, making the deposits and corresponding via email was the easy part.
I arrived in Prague months later, to find myself scared to death as it began to sink in that I was alone, and traveling was completely out of my comfort zone. Being away from family and friends that love me unconditionally was daunting, and I began to wonder if I had made the right decision. After an uneasy night in a hotel, I ventured out to meet some of the nicest, coolest, and most helpful people I have ever met. My roommate was immediately helpful and kind, I couldn’t have asked for a better friend.
When arriving to class, late of course since I am challenged when it comes to directions, Mila, our instructor, was kind and understanding. The class was small, which concerned me since I was worried about making acquaintances. Worrying about anything, when it pertained to my trip, proved to be futile. The people in class were so remarkable and intriguing; we had a fabulous time in and outside of the classroom. There was not one bad moment in Prague, a few awkward ones, but not one bad one. I felt completely safe in and outside of the city.
The choice of ITTP apartment option which I went for was a bit outside of the city, which I enjoyed because it gave me an authentic view of the culture, minus the throngs of tourists. I also enjoyed it because it was comfortable and very clean, thanks to Neville’s fastidious care.
The historic knowledge I gained from this fabulous city, as well as the experience and instruction from Mila, was such a positive experience that I am finding it difficult to put into words.
I chose to return home to my husband and career since I have three more years until I fully retire from the American educational system. I am hoping to relocate and teach overseas when my husband is retired as well.
Upon my return to work; I was surprised to discover I would be teaching a classroom of students who spoke English as their second language. I would also be team teaching with an international teacher from Australia. I felt well-prepared for this group of students because of the useful strategies Mila taught me, as well as feeling empathetic to my partner, as I briefly experienced the loneliness that accompanies relocating to a foreign country.
I plan to return next summer and tour parts of Eastern Europe with a friend. As I am hoping one day to teach internationally, I am confident that my month in Prague prepared me, and helped propel me into the next phase of my career.
Mary Murfin

Monday, August 6, 2012

Latest ITTP TEFL Prague Onsite course review

6/08/2012 : Mary
5 Stars out of 5 

I have been a language arts teacher in an American school for the past 27 years. I attended this course to provide myself with a possible career option after retirement. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of information I acquired, as well as the professionalism and knowledge of our instructor. He kept class interesting, and he was so insightful about our strengths and weaknesses, and consistently kind when correcting us. Prague is a fabulous city, and my experience learning the culture, and getting to know people while teaching was fantastic. When a question arose, there was always someone to answer it, and help guide us. Although I am not sure where my newfound knowledge will lead me, I will be forever thankful for the experience.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

ITTP Prague TEFL: Onsite Course Graduate Checking In...

Hello Neville,

As you may remember, I am working at the Alternativ Language School, and I have been asked to contact you about the students in your upcoming TEFL course. Mrs. Marešová would like you to know that she is very interested in hiring students from your course. She believes that the students who graduate from your course are the most knowledgeable and professional of all the TEFL graduates in Prague. She is looking for teachers with an interest in teaching children, and able to start in September. If you have any students who would be interested in applying or would like more information about the school, they can contact the school's e-mail at: info [at] and the web site is Thank you so much and have a nice day.

Lindsey Phillips

ITTP TEFL Prague Online: Graduate Message

Then I guess this is it, isn't it? Unless I'll have more Qs to ask until 29.09 :), but I guess it's safe to say;
Thank you very much for the course and the experience you have provided and given.
Thank you Neville, for your patience and informative help, if it wasn't for you, I wouldn't be where I am today.
Thank you Veronika, for the helping hand and enlightenment when I needed it as well as for the updates.
Finally, thank you Joe, for throwing a rope down out of the blue.

Thank you all very much, I hope your days are peaceful and lucky.
Best wishes.